States to boycott, states to visit

Consumer boycotts can work with enough support

The extraordinary political crisis that will likely continue until Joe Biden is finally inaugurated on January 20 seemed to peak in mid-December after the U.S. Supreme Court declined to hear an electoral challenge by 18 states, whose leaders wanted the votes of millions of Americans in other states thrown out.

In a response by officials from Pennsylvania — one of the targeted swing states — Attorney General Josh Shapiro described the Texas-led lawsuit as a “seditious abuse of the judicial process.” Michigan officials noted that numerous state and federal courts rejected similar claims of the state violating election laws made by embattled Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton, who is under federal investigation for alleged bribery and abuse of his office. Paxton claimed that voting by mail was illegally enacted in those two states as well as Wisconsin and Georgia, hypocritically ignoring other states that also changed the rules of mail-in voting like his own. While supporting states’ rights in other cases, Paxton wanted to “co-opt the legislative authority of another state,” Georgia officials responded.

While the campaign failed, individuals can do more to stop such abuse of voting and civil rights. For one, if you live in Texas, work to oust politicians like Paxton. If you don’t, boycott the state of Texas and the other states that supported this attempted coup against a fair election. Don’t visit these states, or if you do, spend as little money as possible there.

Consumer boycotts can work to enact change if they get enough support. If nothing else, individuals are aligning their political beliefs and values with their spending dollars, which is better than doing nothing. State tourism officials notice. Corporations notice. This effort gained strength on Twitter, with #BoycottTexas, #BoycottMissouri and similar hashtags trending.

Here are the states that supported this action to boycott [some participated more strongly than others]:

  • Texas, which filed the original lawsuit
  • Missouri, which led the amicus brief in support and asked to join as a plaintiff of the Texas lawsuit
  • Arkansas, which joined Missouri’s brief and asked to join as a plaintiff
  • Louisiana, which joined Missouri’s brief and asked to join as a plaintiff
  • Mississippi, which joined Missouri’s brief and asked to join as a plaintiff
  • South Carolina, which joined Missouri’s brief and asked to join as a plaintiff
  • Utah, which joined Missouri’s brief and asked to join as a plaintiff
  • Alabama, which joined Missouri’s brief
  • Indiana, which joined Missouri’s brief
  • Florida, which joined Missouri’s brief
  • Kansas, which joined Missouri’s brief
  • Montana, which joined Missouri’s brief
  • Nebraska, which joined Missouri’s brief
  • North Dakota, which joined Missouri’s brief
  • Oklahoma, which joined Missouri’s brief
  • South Dakota, which joined Missouri’s brief
  • Tennessee, which joined Missouri’s brief
  • West Virginia, which joined Missouri’s brief

Washington, D.C., led an amicus brief opposing the lawsuit that was signed by 20 states and two territories. Consider visiting them before the aforementioned states.

Image for post
Image for post
Visit California’s Yosemite National Park and other tourist attractions in states that support voting rights before Arches National Park in Utah and other attractions in states that support discarding millions of Americans’ votes. [Kevin Shay photo]
  • Washington, D.C., led the amicus brief that opposes the attempts to throw out Americans’ votes
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Guam
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Carolina
  • Oregon
  • Rhode Island
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Washington
  • Ohio, filed a separate objection

Some 126 Republican U.S. House of Representatives members signed on the lawsuit in support, as well. Many of them plan to continue to object when Congress accepts election results January 6. At least a dozen senators also vowed to challenge results.

Consider working to oust these authoritarian politicians. The representatives include:

  • Mike Johnson of Bossier City, Louisiana, led the effort to recruit House members to support this lawsuit
  • Kevin McCarthy, House Minority Leader from California
  • Mo Brooks of Alabama
  • Rick Crawford of Arkansas
  • Debbie Lesko of Arizona
  • Doug LaMalfa of California
  • Tom McClintock of California
  • Ken Buck of Colorado
  • Matt Gaetz of Florida
  • Austin Scott of Georgia
  • Trey Hollingsworth of Indiana
  • Steve King of Iowa
  • Ron Estes of Kansas
  • Steve Scalise of Louisiana
  • Andy Harris of Bel Air, Maryland
  • Bill Huizenga of Michigan
  • Ann Wagner of Missouri
  • Greg Gianforte of Montana
  • Adrian Smith of Nebraska
  • Elise Stefanik of New York
  • Lee Zeldin of New York
  • Gregory Murphy of North Carolina
  • Jim Jordan of Ohio
  • Fred Keller of Pennsylvania
  • Mike Kelly of Pennsylvania
  • Ralph Norman of South Carolina
  • Ron Wright of Arlington, Texas
  • Roger Williams of Austin, Texas
  • Kenny Marchant of Coppell, Texas
  • Dan Crenshaw of Houston, Texas
  • Louie Gohmert of Tyler, Texas
  • Ben Cline of Virginia
  • Cathy McMorris Rogers of Washington
  • Carol D. Miller of West Virginia
  • Tom Tiffany of Wisconsin

A full list of the House members who supported the lawsuit is here.

Senators involved include:

  • Josh Hawley of Missouri
  • Ted Cruz of Texas
  • Ron Johnson of Wisconsin

Names of the rest of the seditious dozen are here.

Written by

Written for 45+ newspapers/mags. Written some books — see Visited 48 states, 30+ countries.

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store